數碼世界中以人為本教育的重要性

Richard Culatta, CEO of the International Society for Technology Education
現職國際教育技術協會(International Society of Technology in Education – ISTE)的行政總裁Richard Culatta的教學生涯始於高中,及後獲前美國總統奧巴馬邀請出任美國教育部教育科技辦公室主任,任內領導多個擴展至全國各地學校的項目。Culatta出任此公職達六年之久,並制訂《國家教育科技計劃》。「你正嘗試解決什麼問題?」Culatta直言這應是科技推行教育時要提出的首要問題,但很多埋首於教育的工作者卻忘記提出。他於演講中透露推行科技教育的成功的秘訣:

  • 建立願景:到底我們想要得到甚麼?
  • 準備充足的教師:要令教師成功實踐願景
  • 科技設備及配套:提供科技來支援教師推行願景

要在數碼世界真正推行以人為本的教育,以上三個元素缺一不可。

Chart

Culatta亦分享透過設計思維與科技,可以幫助我們解決教育問題的三個方法:

1)讓學生成為解難者

過去我們傾向於把學生視為海綿,教育方式往往只是單向灌輸。當中不少學校視科技純為教授知識的媒介。然而,科技不僅能向學生傳遞知識,還可反過來幫助他們成為設計者、創造者及解難者。Culatta強調,科技可以美化或惡化這個世界,教育工作者的使命就是先給學生建立一個善良、互相協作的環境,再讓他們運用科技改善社會。

2)個人化學習

學生都是獨立個體,他們有不同的需要、興趣和熱愛。Culatta引用我們不能期望魚能爬樹的比喻,認為每個學生都有獨特的個人能力。他提及一次訪校的經驗,過程中他無法分辨課室的正前方在哪裡,因為老師已改變以往的單向教學方式。相反,Culatta看到學生根據他們的個人需求和興趣參與項目,而科技在促進個人化學習中發揮重要作用。

3)建立負責任的數碼公民

Culatta表示我們需要提供方法,使學生能夠意識到他們在數碼世界中做出的決定時的潛在後果。PISA最近的研究結果顯示,百份之九十的學生無法分辨事情的真假。Culatta提出了一個重要的觀點:作為教育工作者,我們應該鼓勵積極正面的行為。他說:「無人能練習不做某些事情。」Culatta認為要學生成為一個有能力而負責任的數碼公民,他們需學會分辨知識真偽、包容不同意見、積極參與各種公民活動、均衡使用互聯網和時刻警醒自己在線行為如何影響他人。這些都是未來數碼公民的關鍵能力。

Culatta最後回應現場觀眾及教育工作者的問題時,提供了以下建議:

  1. 試作為學生的影子,紀錄他整天在校內的活動和情況。這些經驗將有助我們逆地而處,加強以同理心了解和解決他們的需要。
  2. 勇於承認不足:設計思維讓大家意識到學海無涯的道理。即是說,作為老師也不用害怕向學生承認,自己對他們的提問也沒有答案。
  3. 從小處著手:教育中最大的挑戰之一,就是我們嘗試做太多事情,失去重心。設計思維就是令我們可以慢慢地、按部就班地解決問題,然後在此基礎上再繼續嘗試和發揮。

Human-Centred Education in a Digital World

Richard Culatta, CEO of the International Society for Technology Education

Richard Culatta, CEO of the International Society for Technology Education (ISTE) shared his background as a high school teacher who, in an unexpected turn of events, was invited by former U.S. President Barack Obama to lead his Office of Education Technology. Culatta stayed in public service for six years, before joining ISTE.“What problem are you trying to solve?”This should be the starting point to examine how technology can support education, according to Culatta. In many cases, educators forget to ask this key question.

He gave the audience his ‘secret formula’ for success:

  • Develop a Vision: Where do you want to go?
  • Prepare Teachers: We have to enable teachers to be successful in implementing the vision
  • Technical Infrastructure: We have the technology to support teachers in reaching the vision

For a good human-centred approach to technology, it is important for these to take place in order.

Chart

Culatta shared 3 ways of using design thinking and technology to address problems in education.

1. Turn Students into Problem Solvers

Culatta said very often we treat students as sponges. Education should not be just about receiving information. Many schools use technology just to feed information to students. Technology should instead help students to become designers, creators and problem solvers. He underscored the fact that technology can transform our world in pretty amazing or terrible ways. We should ‘design a world that is kind, collaborative, where students use technology devices to improve their community’.

2. Personalise Learning for Every Student

Students have different needs, interests and passions. As an analogy, Culatta pointed out that we could not expect a fish to climb a tree. He shared his experience of visiting a school where he could not tell where the front of the classroom was, as the teacher was not imparting knowledge to students in one way anymore. Instead Culatta saw students working on projects based on their individual needs and interests. And technology can play a great role in facilitating personalised learning.

3. Create Responsible Digital Citizens

Culatta said we need to provide tools to enable students to be aware of the potential consequences of the decisions they make in the digital world. He said the recent PISA results showed that 9 out of 10 students could not tell fact from fiction. Culatta made an important point that as educators we should encourage positive behavior.”You can’t practice not doing something,” he said. An effective and responsible digital citizen means students should be informed, inclusive, engaged, balanced and alert. These are the key competencies for future digital citizenship.

In response to the audience’s questions, Culatta gave the following tips to educators:

  1. Shadow a Student at School: Do this for the whole day and take notes. The experience will help us step into the shoes of students, building empathy with their needs.
  2. Be Vulnerable: Design thinking means we don’t have the answer to something. It means as teachers, you have to be willing to say you don’t know what the solution is.
  3. Start Small: One of the biggest challenges in education is we try to do too much. The best thing about design thinking is we can take just a little bite – solve this one problem and then based on that try something else.