設計思維與21世界的學習需要

Prof. Tam


譚嘉因教授
, 為現任香港科技大學商學院院長,解釋了科技對未來工作的影響。他介紹Will Robots Take My Job網站,指出具重複性的工作將逐步自動化,並由機器取代,但亦會有新的工種出現。在這大前提下,他認為需要拆解兩個情況:(1) 因重複性工作自動化而導致失業的問題;(2) 如不培育新人才擔任新工種,會出現就業不足的情況。他指出:「在將來,我們需要的技巧包括同理心、社交技巧、溝通技巧、創造力。要為將來做好準備,我們更須為教師作投資。」                 下載講者簡報
Sandy Speicher

Echoing Prof IDEO 的教育業務執行總監及合夥人Sandy Speicher, 與譚教授有類似的看法,認為教學是不能被機械人取代的工作,我們需要更多教師去賦予年青一代能力和信心去創建未來,設計思維正是多種邁向此目標的途徑之一。教師每天也在「設計」,只是自己沒有察覺而已。Sandy 附以例子證明了「設計更好的體驗,也為制度上帶來更好的效果。」她解釋了設計思維應用在教育的三種方法:

  1.  設計思維作為教學法 :將設計思維融入學習活動中
  2.  設計思維作為過程 :為學校制度和環境創建新方案
  3. Identify the current assets, the budget, furniture, fixture etc.
  4.  設計思維作為工作方法 :重新設計學校的文化,鼓勵教師們彼此分享和合作                     下載講者簡報
Madhu Verma


Madhu Verma
為新加坡 , Design for Change 及Social Change in Action的創辦人及總監,她指出新加坡政府推行政策,以設計重塑整個國家。設計思維也納入了應用學習計劃、終身學習計劃以及品格及國民教育中。創意行動 (Design for Change) 是全球的運動,讓兒童有信心和能力說:「我做得到」,並由他們付諸行動作出改變,發起改變未來的重任。創意行動利用設計思維的基本原則包括感受、想像、實踐和分享,裝備學生21世紀所需的技巧、受聘技巧,還有社交和情感素質。Madhu 強調教育家要重新為成功作出定義,並勇於面對不肯定性。她說:「成功是學習的過程,不是結果。」

演講嘉賓強調思維方式改變的重要性,並沒有「一步到位」的方法;政府和所有持份者也須付出,造就這些改變,以真誠的方式為目標和優先次序達成共識。

Design Thinking and 21st Century Learning Needs

Prof. Tam


Profession Kar Yan Tam
, Dean of School of Business and Management, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology elucidated the impact of technology on the future of work. Referring to the website Will Robots Take My Job,  he said jobs with repetitive nature will be gradually automated and replaced by machines, but new jobs will also be created. He underlined the need to address two situations (1) unemployment due to the repetitive jobs being automated and (2) underemployment if we are not nurturing new talents to take up those new jobs. “The skills that are needed in the future are empathy, social skills, communication skills, creativity,” he told the audience. “To prepare for the future, we need to invest in teachers,” he added.
Sandy Speicher

Echoing Prof Tam’s remarks that teaching is one the jobs that will not be displaced by robots, Sandy Speicher, Managing Director in Education Practice and Partner, IDEO, said we need teachers more than ever, who can empower young people with the ability and confidence to create the future. Design thinking is one of the many means towards that. Teachers are actually designing every day without realizing themselves. Sandy demonstrated with examples of how “the design of a better experience also produces better outcomes for the system.” She explains the three ways that design thinking applied to education:

  1.  Design Thinking as pedagogy , integrating design thinking into the learning activities
  2.  Design Thinking as a process , creating new solutions to school systems and environment
  3. Identify the current assets, the budget, furniture, fixture etc.
  4.  Design Thinking as a way of working ,  redesigning school culture encouraging sharing and collaboration amongst teachers                                                                                                                                                                                Download Sandy’s slide

Madhu Verma


Madhu Verma
, Founder and Director, Design for Change Singapore, Social Change in Action said under the Singapore Government’s policy of reshaping the country by design. Design thinking is introduced to applied learning programme, lifelong learning programme, character and citizen education. Design for Change is a global movement empowering kids to say “I can” and take the initiative to drive the future as a change maker. Using design thinking principles of Feel, Imagine, Do and Share, Design for Change equip students with 21st-century skills, employability skills as well as social & emotional competencies. Madhu emphasized that educators need to redefine success and embrace ambiguity. “Success is about the learning, not the success,” she said.The panel underscored the importance of a mindset change. There is no quick fix nor a silver bullet. The government and all stakeholders have to contribute to making change happen, agreeing on the goals and priorities in an honest way.