小學個案分享

Prof Paula Kwan, Ms Joyce Chung, Ms Christine Greenberg and Ms Poon Lai Man

由香港中文大學香港教育領導發展中心主任關譽綱教授主持,以「小學如何應用設計思維」為主題的實例分享。席間特別請來天主教總堂區學校校長宗藹雯女士、港灣學校預備及小學校長Christine Greenberg女士及民生書院小學視覺藝術科科主任潘儷文女士,展開一場豐富又精彩的深度討論。

Ms Joyce Chung, Principal of Catholic Mission School

天主教總堂區學校宗校長分享學校於過去兩年推行設計思維,致力用教學模式打破根深於老師和學生的思維習慣:

  • 『與學生和其他持份者建立關係』vs 『網絡虛擬互動』
  • 『實踐學習』vs 『 背誦學習』
  • 『解決現實世界問題』vs 『 專注課本知識』

宗校長指出,以學生為中心的教育,首要是尊重每位學生的獨特性與需要,從而提供不同的教學方式。她以循序漸進的方式推行設計思維,從重新設計課室開始,到重新設計課堂,以及師生關係:

Slide 1

1. 重新設計課室: 學生可以自由選擇不同形式上課,例如站在高桌旁、用書桌、甚至坐在地上。校方聆聽了學生的需要,給他們提供不同選擇後,學生感到更被尊重、更自在,無形中建立了歸屬感。

2. 重新設計課堂: 老師先訂下學習目標,學生則可因應自己的興趣和能力自行選擇不同程度的難度挑戰。

3. 重新設計師生關係: 老師樹立一個好榜樣,透過示範表達個人情感和需要,老師與學生慢慢建立更緊密的關係,令彼此進一步了解、一起學習和成長。

Slide 2

港灣學校預備及小學Christine Greenberg校長認為,我們身處於充斥大量資訊、科技急速變化與發展的世代,難以預測學生的未來需要,學校更加需要調整並推行不同的教學模式。她引述著名教育家John Dewey:「若然我們仍以昨日一樣的模式去教今日的學生,等同扼殺他們的未來。」因此,港灣學校預備及小學在推行教育時,會不停反思並提出六個核心問題:

  1. 學校有否自測回饋機制? 持份者是否環環相扣,互相影響?
  2. 學校文化能否容納並推廣多元性?
  3. 學校如何界定成功並鼓勵不同類型的成就?
  4. 課程能為社區帶來甚麼影響和轉變?
  5. 課程能否為學生個人引發學習?
  6. 學校是否一個愉快學習的地方?

她在學校注入設計思維元素,學生的參與是其中的主要部份。

Greenberg校長分享了港灣學校如何運用設計思維處理現時教育所面對的挑戰,包括邀請學生加入校服設計委員會及學校裝修團隊等。「這些看似微小的舉動,對學生及老師甚具意義,他們可以從中互相學習。」

Greenberg校長進一步強調,成功的定義需要更闊、更廣,更多元,不應局限在學術層面上。她認為閱讀、美術、縫紉、歌劇、創業技能同樣重要。評估方式除了選擇題、論文,還可以是執行任務。再者,她認為學校應注重 『良善』多於 『分數』,所以本校課程著重提升學生的品格及對整個社區的影響。於總結時,她提醒我們學校應該是一個愉快,甚至帶點傻氣的地方。

民生書院小學視覺藝術科科主任潘儷文女士分享一些直資學校老師與學生所面對的挑戰和她的心得。她分享去年參加香港設計中心老師培訓工作坊學習設計思維老師的經驗,以及設計思維怎樣令學生鼓起勇氣去問、去想、去試,由「不可能』到 『我做得到」。

在香港設計中心老師培訓工作坊,潘老師要帶領學生重新設計遊樂場。由觀察使用者的需要開始,到建立人物誌以了解用家的理想遊樂場。過程中,學生分析不同使用者的需要、表達自己的想法和收納意見,不斷調整設計來平衡各方所需。潘老師見證學生不斷強化他們的C技能:同理心(Compassion)、合作(Collaboration)、創造力(Creativity)、溝通(Communication)、批判思考(Critical Thinking)、好奇心(Curiosity) 與信心(Confidence)。

除了學生受惠外,潘老師也分享了設計思維對老師的得著:

  1. 改善與學生及家長的關係: 老師化身為主持人,而非指導角色,讓學生感到對等,能改善三方的關係。
  2. 更有效分配時間: 雖然老師可能需要時間來學習如何運用設計思維,但長遠而言,設計思維讓學生更主動地學習,促使老師教學更輕鬆。
  3. 平衡身心: 省下來的時間讓老師可以騰出時間做運動或思考未來教學方式,從而獲得更多滿足感。

潘老師提供了一些小貼士,讓老師們也可以開展設計思維的教育旅程:

  1. 學習基本知識: 多看一些設計思維相關的教學資料,網上免費資源如IDEO、香港設計中心的Unleash! 網站 (www.unleashhk.org)
  2. 改變自己的思維、跳出舒適圈
  3. 由小處開始改變: 可以從小組開始,然後推廣至班別、級別以至全校

答問環節中,嘉賓講者們討論了如何說服同事推行設計思維。潘老師認為從自己開始改變最重要,因為同事會受推行設計思維所帶來的改變及成果所吸引。Greenberg校長表示,有時候我們傾向忘記學習是一種情感鍛煉,需要彼此帶動。宗校長指出,她著重關心老師面對的困難,同時照顧他們的需要。

參加者從嘉賓講者們的分享中明白到,設計思維將「教與學」帶回「以人為本」的初心,能替老師和學生在學習上解決各種難題。

Case Study Sharing: Primary Schools

Prof Paula Kwan, Ms Joyce Chung, Ms Christine Greenberg and Ms Poon Lai Man

Prof Paula Kwan, Director of Hong Kong Centre for the Development of Educational Leadership of Chinese University of Hong Kong, moderated the panel sharing on design thinking applications in primary schools with:

Ms Joyce Chung, Principal of Catholic Mission School

The Catholic Mission School has implemented design thinking in the last 2 years. Chung empahsised the pre-requisite of changing the habits of mind of both the teachers and students in the following ways:

  • Building relationship with students and other stakeholders vs cyber interaction
  • Learning by doing vs memorisationsation
  • Solving real world problem vs text book learning

Slide 1

1. Re-design the classroom: Students can now choose to stand at a high bench, use a table, or even sit on the floor. Through consulting the needs of students and introducing choices in the classroom, students feel more respected, more comfortable and have a greater sense of belongings.

2. Re-design the lesson: Teachers define the learning objectives and students feel empowered that they are given the choices to tackle challenges of varying levels to suit their interests and abilities.

3. Re-design teacher-student relationship: Teachers serve as role models on how to express their feelings. By sharing their emotional needs, both teachers and students develop a closer relationship, and also learn and grow together in their daily interactions.

Slide 2

Greenberg, underscored the need for schools to teach differently in highlighted that we are living in an age of abundant information with the accelerating growth in technology and the future needs of our students are least predictable. Quoting the famous educator John Dewey, she said “if we teach today’s students as we taught yesterday’s, we rob them of tomorrow.” The Harbour School asked itself 6 critical questions:

  1. Is it a cybernetic system?
  2. Does the school culture enhance diversity of perspective?
  3. How does the school authentically define and celebrate success?
  4. Does the curriculum emphasise outcomes for the community?
  5. Does the curriculum emphasise learning outcomes for the students as individuals?
  6. Is the school a joyful place to learn?

She has infused the elements of design thinking in her school and student participation is a major component of design thinking.

The Harbour School uses design thinking to answer and address these questions.

Greenberg shared how the school includes students in the school uniform design committee and the school renovation team. She stressed the importance of these small but meaningful initiatives, as there is as much to learn from the children, as they have to learn from school.

Greenberg emphasised there must be diversity of perspectives, with different pathways of success – not just academic. Teaching reading should be as important as art, sewing, theatre or the development of entrepreneurial skills. Assessments should not only be limited to multiple choices and essays, but could be the performance of a task. More importantly, she said that the school values “kindness’ more than “grades”. The school curriculum placed a strong emphasis on the outcomes for the community and the students as a person. Greenburg concluded by reminding us that “the school should be a joyful place and having a little bit of silliness is important.”

The Munsung College Primary School is a Direct Subsidy Scheme School. Poon shared her observations of the challenges of teachers and students at the school. She shared her experience of learning design thinking from a Hong Kong Design Centre teacher training programme last year, and how she adopted design thinking to enable develop students to have courage to ask, to think and to try. “From Impossible to I’M Possible”.

Poon led her students to redesign playgrounds in the HKDC design thinking programme, going through the different stages of observing and emphasising the needs of the users, developing personas and their ideal playgrounds, redesigning the playgrounds based on the insights, presenting their ideas and soliciting feedback, and finally reiterating and redefining their work. She emphasised how the process has enabled students to strengthen their C skills – Compassion, Collaboration, Creativity, Communication, Critical Thinking, Curiosity and Confidence.

Apart from benefiting the students, Poon also shared the value of design thinking to teachers:

  1. Build Better relationship with students & parents: Teachers acted more like a facilitator during the process. This new role of the teacher enabled students to feel more equal, resulting in better relationship with students and also with their parents.
  2. Save Time for Long-Term: Whilst teachers might need to invest time to learn a new process at the beginning, it help them to save time in the long-term when students become more self-driven to learn.
  3. Improve Health: Teachers could save time, do more exercise and have more work satisfaction.

Poon gave her tips on how educators can begin the design thinking journey:

  1. Acquire basic knowledge: She recommended IDEO’s free online “Design Thinking for Educators” and the HKDC resources on the Unleash! website (www.unleashhk.org)
  2. Change your mindset and get out of the comfort zone
  3. Start small: Beginning with a group, then a class, the form and eventually the school

Panelists discussed how they persuaded colleagues to embrace design thinking. Poon shared that it is important to start small with herself first. Colleagues will be attracted by the outcomes and changes. Greenberg reminded us that learning is an emotional exercise. Chung said she is mindful of the difficulties that teachers face and should attend to their needs.

Participants walked away with a strong message from the panelists that design thinking is a human-centred approach to solve problems, for both teachers and students.