創意空間 創意思維 – Unleash

創意空間 創意思維

creative_space_1

快樂學習:一個不可能實現的任務?

成年人可以給孩子們最好的禮物,無過於一個快樂的童年。家長、老師、政府、甚至任何與孩子有關連的人,都可以為實現這目標而做點事。我們的孩子代表著我們對未來的希望。不幸的是,香港目前的情況並非如此。. 

根據瑪麗醫院於2018年7月至12月對2,038名家長和18名小學學校代表進行的一項調查顯示,35%的家長就孩子面對的壓力給予7分或以上的評分,滿分為10分。超過一半的家長指出,他們的孩子每天必須花兩個小時或更長時間完成家庭作業,而11.5%的家長表示他們的孩子需花額外兩小時或以上來温書。

難怪,我們的孩子並不快樂,有些甚至討厭上學。

該項調查於2019年4月公佈,結果亦顯示香港兒童應有更多閒暇時間做他們想做的事及放鬆。他們需要空間享受自由,探索創造力。

康樂及文化事務署(「康文署」)於2018年12月向公眾開放位於屯門公園的一個共融遊樂場就是這樣一個空間。

公共空間發展與設計思維

creative_space_2這家公園是首個把「水」和「沙」兩項天然元素納入設計,為不同年齡和能力的兒童提供無障礙及共融遊樂設施的公園,是康文署與建築署合作的一個先導計劃,其設計概念源於「共融遊樂空間設計概念比賽」獲獎作品。該比賽由智樂兒童遊樂協會、聯合國兒童基金香港委員會及香港園境師學會於2015年聯合舉辦。

康文署總康樂事務經理陳明昌表示:「在設計階段,我們收集了不同意見,並邀請一些來自《小小遊樂場專員培育計劃》的孩子共同設計。」

「我們還訪問了不同的學校,包括特殊教育學校,以收集學生的意見。」他說。

項目團隊採用以人為本的設計思維方法,考慮不同使用者的需要,統籌新遊樂場的發展。在遊樂場內的不同遊樂區,可以找到以水和沙作主題的園區、設有搖擺旋轉的遊樂設施、攀爬塔、以及帶有敲擊和觸感功能的特殊活動裝置。這些設施也適合殘疾和自閉症兒童,包括為植入人工耳蝸的兒童提供的特殊金屬滑梯,為其他殘疾兒童提供的滾筒式和沿堤興建的滑梯,以及為自閉症兒童設置的牆壁,隧道和障礙物,以便讓不同年齡和能力的兒童可以享受遊戲的樂趣,同時學習不同的技能。

除了兒童設施外,園內更有兒童可和家長一起玩的設施。 例如,父母可以與孩子面對面地一起盪的親子鞦韆。

將學習帶回它所屬的地方

世界知名的教育與創意專家Ken Robinson爵士在他的著作「讓天賦自由」中說道:「事實是,就我們面臨的挑戰,我們並不需要改革教育制度,而是需要徹底改造它。關鍵不在如何把教育標準化,而在於怎樣把教育變得個人化,去發掘每個孩子的個人才能,將學生置於一個他們能夠擁抱學習,自然地發現自己心中熱愛的環境中。」

也許我們都可以從他的話語中學到一些東西:學校是孩子們可以體驗學習樂趣的地方,而教育是他們探索創意潛能的過程。

Creative Space Creative Mind – Unleash

Creative Space Creative Mind

creative_space_1

Happy Schooling—an Impossible Task?

The best gift adults can give to children is a happy childhood. Parents, teachers, government officials — anybody who relates to kids can do something to make that happen. Our children represent our hope for the future. Unfortunately, the current situation in Hong Kong tells a different story. 

According to a survey conducted by Queen Mary Hospital from July to December 2018 of 2,038 parents and 18 representatives from primary schools, 35% of parents ranked their children 7 points or more out of 10 in suffering from pressure. More than half the parents reported that their children have to spend two hours or more to finish their homework every day, while 11.5% of the parents said their children need an additional two hours or more for studying.


No wonder, our children are so unhappy. Some even dislike going to school.

Released in April 2019, the survey result also suggested that Hong Kong children should have more leisure time to do what they want and have time to relax. They need the space to enjoy their autonomy and explore their creativity. 


The inclusive playground in Tuen Mun Park under the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (“LCSD”), open to public in December 2018, is such a space.

Design Thinking for Public Space Development

creative_space_2The park is the first of its kind to offer barrier-free inclusive play facilities incorporating two natural elements, water and sand, in its design for children of different ages and abilities. This is a pilot collaboration between the LCSD and the Architectural Services Department with design concepts from the winning entries of the Inclusive Play Space Design Ideas Competition, jointly organised in 2015 by the Playright Children’s Play Association, the Hong Kong Committee for the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund and the Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects. 


“During the design stage, we gathered different ideas and invited some of the kids from Junior Playground Commissioners Incubation Programme to co-design,” said Horman Chan, Chief Leisure Manager of LCSD.

“We also visited different schools, including Schools for Children with Special Education Needs to gather ideas from the students,” he said. 

The project team adopted Design Thinking, a people-centric approach,  to oversee the development of the new playground, taking into consideration various user needs. The water and sand themes, the swaying and rotating play installations, the tower for climbing, and special fixtures and movable parts with knocking and touching features can be found throughout the different play zones within the playground. The facilities are also suitable for children with disabilities and autism. Special metal slides for kids with cochlear implants, roller and embankment slides for children with other disabilities as well as walls, tunnels and barriers for children with autism are in place to allow children of different ages and abilities to enjoy the fun of playing while acquiring different skills. 

Apart from facilities for children, there are also facilities for children playing together with their parents. For example, there are parent-child swings where the parents can ride face-to-face with their kids. 


Bring Learning Back to Where It Belongs

“The fact is that given the challenges we face, education doesn’t need to be reformed — it needs to be transformed. The key to this transformation is not to standardize education, but to personalize it, to build achievement on discovering the individual talents of each child, to put students in an environment where they want to learn and where they can naturally discover their true passions,” said Sir Ken Robinson, world renowned expert on education and creativity, in his book “The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything.”


Perhaps we can all learn something from Robinson’s words: A school is a place where children can experience the joy of learning and education is a process in which  they can explore their creative potentials.